Posted by: digibirder | December 21, 2010

Facts and figures

In my previous post, where I reminisced a little on the past year, I mentioned a new photography magazine I bought recently. In the final article at the end, the editor also looked back on his year and mentioned that he had taken over 50,000 images, and that was only what he’d imported into his Lightroom catalogue. Apparently this was down significantly on the year before, but he also put it into perspective by comparing the figure to the equivalent in 35mm film – nearly 1400 rolls of 36-exposure film. Admittedly, he is a professional photographer, so the figures are not too surprising, but this got me wondering about my photographic output since I went digital.

I do have a boxful of prints from my 35mm days which need to be scanned and digitised sometime (when I can get hold of a slide and negative scanner), but I have not counted them. I do remember, though, occasionally forgetting what might be on the film, as I did not take that many images in those days and it might be months before the film was sent for developing. Strangely, I cannot find many prints from my 35mm SLR cameras, so I don’t know what happened to them. I also dabbled with slides, but not that often. The photographs I have seem to be mainly from the 35mm compact cameras I had, and the ill-fated APS compact camera.

Anyway, looking at my Lightroom catalogue, I can see a definite increase in output over the years. I, too, have not imported all my images into Lightroom. There are some languishing in random folders on the hard drive as a result of my haphazard filing method in the beginning. When I saw the numbers increase, I changed the filing method into categories, which resulted in me moving images from different years into one folder, say for certain locations, or certain bird species. This took quite some time, but I soon realised that this was also not going to be the best filing method. When I acquired Lightroom I spent ages trying to work out the best way to file my images, but decided that it was far too much trouble to get the existing images back into a yearly format, so I left those where they were and imported the ones that were quite straightforward. From there I have simply imported them by date order and added a location to the end of the folder name. Lightroom also has the benefit of being able to add keywords to images, so I do a broad keywording for all the images as they are imported and then add any extra ones when necessary. It really is a fantastic programme and I rarely use Photoshop now as a lot of processing can also be done in Lightroom. To be able to search and filter by keyword, camera, lens, date, etc is very helpful.

So, looking at just the folders I’ve imported into Lightroom, here are the figures:
All photos from 2002-2010 = 5943
2002 = 34 / all taken on one 6-day trip in May to Devon using my first digital compact, Nikon 995.
2003 = 60 / from two trips: 22 from a day trip to Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust reserve in February (Nikon 995); 38 on a one week visit to Scotland in June (Canon G3 – great camera; wish I still had it).
2004 = 350 / 104 on a 4-day trip to Scotland in April; 155 0n a week in Extremadura in May; 91 on a trip to Leighton Moss RSPB reserve in June. These were all taken with the Canon 10D with Sigma 50-500mm zoom (which was sooooo heavy).
2005 = 171 / 118 on a one week trip to Lesvos in May (Canon 10D); 53 on a one week trip to Cornwall in July (Canon A95).
2006 = 154 / from 13 trips in total, with the highest number of images taken = 39 on a week in Devon in July (Canon 10D and A95 combined) – this was a bad year for me, on the whole, health-wise, so this output is not too surprising.
2007 = 1121 / 17 trips, with the highest number of images taken = 510 on a 2-week trip to Lesvos in May (Canon 10D). The total number of images taken that year with the 10D was 950, with the remaining images having been taken using the A95.
2008 = 899 / 16 trips, the highest number of images taken = 517 on a 2-week trip to Devon in June (all images for this year were taken with the Canon 10D).
2009 = 1062 / 25 trips in total, the highest number of images taken = 196 on a 2-week trip to Scotland (Canon 10D). Half-way through 2009 I bought the Canon 40D and I took a total of 556 images with this camera, compared with 467 using the 10D and 33 using the Canon A95.
2010 = 1843 / (so far) 66 photo sessions/trips, with 1827 images taken with the 40D and 16 with the A95. The highest number of images taken on one occasion was 123, which was when I visited QuackyBirder when Keith was at his interview in Cyprus in February.

Of course, there are numerous images not in Lightroom, such as around 100 portraits of Keith in a separate folder, and images taken at camera club nights, so it’s not an exhaustive list. Qute an interesting exercise, though.

Having cancelled our trip to Leeds on Saturday, we decided to go on Sunday, having checked that the places we wanted to go would be open. As it turned out, a lot of the shops in the centre were open, including the market. We didn’t want to park in the centre, so we looked on Google maps and located a housing estate where we could park for free and then catch a bus into town, pretty much as we did last week when I was at the workshop. This worked very well and we had no problems at all.

As we were a little early (the shops didn’t open until 10 or 11 am), we called into a coffee shop and had a drink and a croissant before heading to the market for our first item. Last week Keith bought some goat meat and he made a delicious curry with it so we had hoped to get some more. We are trying out cheaper cuts of meat and this was very tasty. Unfortunately the butchers stall had sold out, so we had to make do with mutton, but we did also manage to get another joint of belly pork – the previous one was also cooked to perfection by my resident chef (Keith). I’m not sure how the mutton will turn out, but that will probably be our Christmas dinner, being the paupers that we are at the moment!

Leeds Kirkgate Market is a fascinating place, especially the older part of the building dating from the Edwardian period. I also discovered from an information board that in 1884, a Jewish immigrant called Michael Marks started selling from a stall in the market, before later partnering with a Yorkshireman called Thomas Spencer, eventually forming the retail chain of Marks and Spencer. I took my compact camera with me for the day, in case we decided to go to the Christmas market again (so that I wouldn’t get stopped again for having a professional camera). We didn’t go there in the end, but had a wander round town then returned to Kirkgate Market for a spot of lunch before catching the bus back to where the car was parked.

A bit of an arty shot of snowy fields taken from the moving car as we travelled along the motorway

A cosy, warm coffee shop

Keith exploring the (almost empty) market

The old part of the market with its iron and glass roof

It’s now a Grade I listed building

Yesterday we awoke to a very heavy frost so it looked promising for some wintery macro images. I attached my macro lens (probably the only one of my Sigma lenses that I probably won’t sell – at least not yet) and we went for a wander around the local farmland in the village. We did wander along this lane when it snowed the other week, but the deep snow prevented us from getting very far. This time we managed to reach the lone tree that I had spotted some time ago from the road that runs adjacent to this field. On the way we chatted to the farmer (with his very excited border collie) who told us that one of his cows was in the field with her year-old calf. The calf was hidden from view but the mother was quite curious. I actually took very few macro shots, which were not really to my liking, and mostly used the lens for wider views.

Looking down the lane (the photo from our last walk was taken from the bottom of the lane looking up to this point)

I then switched to my Canon 70-200mm lens for the following images as we headed back home for lunch (and a cup of mulled wine to warm us up!).

The calf had emerged from hiding, but was now at the far side of the field

We’re waiting in today for a plumber to call to sort out our ailing boiler. We should have had someone call last week, but he failed to turn up without any explanation. We’ve had the heating off for about four hours now and it’s getting rather cold in here! We thought we may have to keep nursing the boiler into submission over the holidays, but we’ve just had a call that he’s now on his way – we think it’s the pressure regulator that’s playing up and the pressure keeps dropping and clicking the boiler off, then when we try to add water to the system it goes over the top and clicks off again! It’s a bit of a skill to get it just right so that the pressure stays fairly steady. Once you get it right it seems to behave, but then it all starts again when it comes on with the timer in the morning. Hopefully he’ll be able to sort it today.

To return to the facts and figures theme – this happens to be my 200th post.

Responses

  1. congrats on the 200th posts.

    i think in the past two years i’ve taken way more than you – all those holidays 😀

  2. 200 posts is a good milestone to reach, and the sign of someone who perseveres Diane. Well done.

    Best regards,
    Tony


Leave a Reply

Categories

