Posted by: digibirder | December 16, 2010

It’s back!!

As I sit here, the snow is once again falling and we have a thin covering on the ground. It was falling a lot heavier a little while ago, but it’s calmed down a bit now. I really hope we don’t get the same amount as we had over the last couple of weeks. The remnants of the last snow fall had just about gone from all the roads and here we are again.

Anyway, I’ve really enjoyed using the two lenses I rented, but sadly they are now on their way back to Lenses for Hire. I did, however, manage to extend the hire for another two days, as I didn’t feel I’d done enough with them. I quite liked the 16-35mm, but only really used this at the Christmas Market, and it’s not a lens I really need at the moment. The 24-105mm f/4 IS was good, but I think on the whole I prefer the 24-70mm f/2.8 I had the other week, even though that does not have image stabilisation. I’ve added up the possible second-hand value of my range of Sigma lenses, and I might just have almost enough to fund one new Canon lens. That’s if I can sell them. I might get them on sale soon, then they will be available to either the pre- or post-Christmas purchasers.

So, I played around with more portraits of Keith. He’s getting used to posing now!

A bit of messing about with the flash firing from high up on a shelf

Flash brought round to the side

Favourite accessory – using the Gary Fong Lightsphere with the Canon 580EX II flash on-camera

Converted to black and white in Lightroom and a preset with slight vignette added

Later that day Keith had a dentist appointment in Rotherham, so while he was there I wandered round nearby Clifton Park and when he joined me later I decided to have an outdoor session, again using the flash on-camera with the Lightsphere attached. It was getting late by this time and the natural light was fading, but the Lightsphere gives a really nice soft light. This location would be ideal for a family photoshoot. I’ll keep it in mind for next year.

While wandering round the park, I noticed that the trees were giving off a really strange glow, as the sun was setting behind the surrounding buildings.

No bad bokeh here!

Note the Magpie right at the top

As the sun went lower, the tops turned redder

I then decided it might be an idea to get someone or something else to be my model, so I headed over to see my sister and take some more portraits of her cats – well two of the three, anyway. As you can imagine, it’s not easy to direct cats to pose, but we managed to get some good ones. And I am very pleased with the sharpness when the images are magnified. And again I used the Lightsphere to get the soft light.

Ginger

Bet you can’t do this!

Let me get away from the madwoman with camera

Bit of biscuit stuck just behind this tooth here

Levi

I don’t mind posing ‘cos I’m really cute

Responses

  1. Wretched snow!! looks likely down here for tomorrow too. It’s great to see so much of Keith and at least you have a resident model.

    Love your sister’s cats…. very photogenic and the colour of the setting sun is fantastic. One of the good things about winter is you get this wonderfully colourful but soft light and at a good low angle. Nice one as usual 😀

  2. aw cute cats!!

    we have the snow too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

