Posted by: digibirder | November 23, 2010

Some progress

Well, I finally finished sorting out the virus that Keith managed to get on his computer. It only took a week of posts back and forth with one of the geeks on Major Geeks to eventually get rid. What a nightmare. I don’t know what I would do if ever I got my hands on one of those dweebs that enjoy causing havoc!

I was still sorting the computer out yesterday, but I also didn’t feel so good – muzzy head all day – so I didn’t get chance to get out with my rented lens. I have also been stuck in today finishing off the process and installing some new anti-virus stuff, so that’s two days of the hire period wasted. I have two days left, so I will have to get some photos taken. I think I am sufficiently impressed with it, though.

Saturday was also a wasted day, as the craft fair was decidedly poor again. I am definitely giving up on these for the forseeable future. There were more people wandering through than at the previous fairs at that location, but they just weren’t buying anything. Anyway, the free portrait workshop on Sunday was more productive. I have to say it wasn’t as good as I expected, but it was free, so I guess I can’t complain. Apart from the time and distance it took to get there. But it was quite an enjoyable outing, and at least I got to give the lens a good workout.

After a brief introduction in the hotel where we met, we went out to the Dunstable Downs and following a quick demo by the workshop organiser, we teamed up with other couples to take portraits. It went OK until we had to practise with flash. The Nikon crowd were OK, as they were able to trigger the external flash using their cameras, but Canon doesn’t do that, and no one had brought wireless triggers. Consequently, we spent most of the time trying to figure out how to set one unit as master and one as slave. This never actually happened so we gave up and went back to the hotel to warm up. It was a bitterly cold day. Note to self: more practice with flashgun.

I managed to get the images of our photo-partners, Ghassan and Shamin, edited and a few are posted below. You can see more of these on my Facebook album page. I haven’t yet received the images that Ghassan took of us. The images of Keith were taken while trying to set up the flashguns and I think he was getting a bit cold and impatient by the end of the session!

Are we sorted yet?

How much longer?

No, I definitely don’t like this deer-in-the-headlights look!

OK, I’ll put on a brave face

Bugger this, I have a cup of hot chocolate with my name on it back at the hotel!!

Responses

  1. Good to hear you got the computer sorted and that you are feeling a bit more positive. The portrait session sounds interesting, even if it wasn’t quite what you expected. I look forward to seeing more of your work in this area. Portraiture isn’t a field I enter much at all – I’m much happier with subjects that keep still and don’t talk back to me! 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Tony

  2. Hi Tony, thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. I must admit it is rather daunting taking photographs of people, but it should become easier with a bit more practice. My next session in Leeds should be interesting – there’s a real model to direct!!

  3. the bottom one just above the first pic of Mr Grumpy is really good!!

    if tony doesn’t like subjects that move he should try birds – ROFLMAO


Leave a Reply

Categories

