Posted by: digibirder | October 12, 2010

In a daze

I seem to leave things so long before blogging about them, it’s hardly worth bothering. But I will persevere. I really must get my act together. Truth be told, I have been feeling a bit under par lately. I am finding it difficult to perform to any reasonable level on a day-to-day basis. I seem to be reverting to how I was a few years ago when all this menopause nonsense started. I also think this is what made the new job unbearable, and it may even have had something to do with my being unable to cope with the pressures. Or it could be that the stress of the job plunged me into another abyss. At any rate, I’m off to the doc’s tonight to see what can be done. I’ve also invested in some supplements, which I cut down following our redundancy. We weren’t sure how long we’d be able to afford the essentials, let alone luxuries.

However, despite me feeling like mush most days, we have still been going out, and we had a couple of trips over the past two weeks that I now have time and energy to blog about.

At the beginning of October, we went over to Liverpool. We had been invited to the retirement party of one of Keith’s friends that he used to work with when he lived over there. We had a great party, catching up with people we hadn’t seen for some years, and then moved on to a pub for further chatting and drinking. When they threw us out at closing time, some moved on to yet another place, but I wasn’t feeling much like partying by this time, so we made our way back to the Holiday Inn Express hotel at Albert Dock where we had booked in for the night. It has been converted from an old warehouse and is a fascinating place – check out some photos here. I don’t know whether it was some bad wine or food, but I woke in the night feeling quite nauseous. I had intended to get out before breakfast to take some photos, but didn’t really feel up to it, so after breakfast we went a walk around Albert Dock to get some fresh air. It’s a fantastic place, with lots of history. After packing and checking out, we then drove home, stopping off in Lymm, in Cheshire, for some welcome lunch, as we were both feeling a bit hungry by then, having not had a huge breakfast due to our delicate condition.

The old and the new

There were plenty of references to the Beatles, but this is another local lad, Billy Fury

A few days later we headed up into North Yorkshire and drove to various spots around the North York Moors, then on to the seaside town of Whitby, where I spent most of my childhood holidays. First stop was the Falling Foss waterfall. This was in a lovely little valley and it had a tearoom right next to it, although we didn’t partake on this occasion.

Then a wander round Whitby, after some delicious fish and chips at the Royal Fisheries restaurant.

Replica of Captain Cook’s ship, the Endeavour coming into harbour

As we came back from walking along the pier, we noticed this sheep being thrown about on the incoming tide

We then drove on to the village of Hutton-le-hole and had a little wander around. Sheep are left to wander the village.

The final stop of the day was to Sutton Bank to see if we could get a decent sunset. It wasn’t as spectacular as we would have liked, but not too bad.

Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you’re a bit down at the mo Digi 😦 But your pictures certainly don’t reflect your mood.

    Stunning as ever and I lurve the sunsets…. don’t get many to view around these parts… so I shall enjoy your countryside and the setting sun..

  2. i’ve really got to get to whitby. the fish and chips are an inducement!

  3. Oh so sorry to hear about the mood thing! You do your best with the posting -that’s all we can do! I love to hear about your travels and that village looks so cool! Great photos there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

