Posted by: digibirder | June 6, 2010

Something new

Yesterday I went on another excellent workshop with Doug Chinnery. This one was based at his home, so there was no getting up at stupid-o-clock again for a (supposed) sunrise! I went to my first workshop with Doug back in January, which was at his home, and that was on the use of Adode Lightroom. Then I went on the landscape workshop in the Peak District, which was eventually rained off, but we managed at least some images during the breaks in the rain. Yesterday’s workshop was on the use of layers and textures, and was a half-day workshop.

I’ve only just started to think about using layers in Photoshop, and I have never used textures, so this was a very interesting workshop which has opened up a new perspective in my image editing. There were five of us there, and Doug made sure that we all understood his explanations of the techniques. He gave us a disc of textures to use for our own images, and below are some of my efforts from half an hour playing around with them. I think some of these will look good as greetings cards or even prints to sell at craft fairs. I had been taking some macro shots of flowers last week, so I had a few images to practise on. Textures can be purchased from various sources, but you can also download many for free.

Leave a Reply

Categories

