Posted by: digibirder | January 7, 2010

365:7

365:7 Rose petals

Practising with macro lens and depth of field. I shot this at ISO 1600 to get the noise effect. This was a rose from a bunch of flowers bought some time ago and I left the petals to dry out. There’s no scent left in them so they really want throwing out.

Another attempt was this one at ISO 800 with more sharpening.

And this was a mess-about with a tiny ornament I have. It’s a Whitby Lucky Duck – about 2cm high. It’s sat on red foil chocolate wrappers!

I did go out this afternoon, but it’s a good job I’d already taken these images, as I didn’t see anything else worth taking for today’s image, apart from more snow, that is!! I had to brave the arctic conditions to go into Sheffield for an appointment at another agency. I’m now on their books for either temporary or permanent work.

I’m still working on the possibility of a photography business, either selling images direct or through an agency, as well as other photography-related jobs such as making cards, etc, to sell at craft fairs. In my research for all this, I am reading a book I bought some time ago called Photos That Sell by Lee Frost. The date is 2003, but I can’t remember when I actually bought it. Things were going OK until I reached the chapter on picture libraries. Some of the information is relevant, but some is clearly out of date in today’s Internet age. For example, Frost’s own picture agency had recently launched their own new website, but stressed that “paper catalogues and personal visits to the library would continue” as some of their clients don’t even have a computer.  Checking the agency’s website today it’s clear they’ve moved on. It appears they now only take digital submissions and don’t accept transparencies at all.

So I move on to the next chapter, The Digital Age. In this chapter, Frost acknowledges the digital movement, but says that for the average aspiring freelancer “there is no real need for a digital camera”, adding that they are very expensive and that the technology has “a long way to go before digital cameras offer image quality on a par with film-based photography”. He has certainly never considered buying a digital camera, and doesn’t know another freelance photographer who has.

Amusingly, in the same chapter, there is advice on buying a computer system in order to scan and store your images digitally (so he’s making some allowances to the future need for this weird technology!). With regard to the specifications of the computer, he states that for general use “you could manage with, say, 64MB of RAM”. But if you want to work with high-resolution files and carry out more intensive manipulation, you might even need 128MB!

He goes on – “modern computers tend to come with internal hard drives of anything from 1GB to 8GB”. When these get full you might need to get extra space, which could be an external hard drive or, more popularly, a Zip drive.

I think I may skip the rest of  that chapter!!

Responses

  1. I’m really enjoying your daily pictures Digi; you’ve got some very original subjects. Snow is great but I, for one, would be pleased to see it go now.

    Entertaining reading your extracts from Lee Frost’s book – perhaps he did have some foresight into where photography would go in the future. If nothing else it surely illustrates how much technology changes and how relatively quickly.

    Good luck with the job hunting … and hope 2010 is a good year for you both.

    • Thanks Tricia. I think the snow has now outstayed its welcome and should be gone. Makes for some nice images, though. But I could do with some other subject matter now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

