Posted by: digibirder | January 2, 2010

New Year, new start, 365:1

Happy New Year to all my friends out there in blogland. I know this year hasn’t got off to a very good start for us, but I’m hoping that the situation will improve soon. I am trying to be proactive in the hunt for a new job or opportunity. The interview at the agency went well, but I don’t yet know whether the employer wants to see me. We signed on for unemployment benefit a couple of days ago, and that will help, although not by very much.

Following that appointment, we headed over to stay with some friends for a New Year’s Eve party. This took place in their village hall and then about ten of us stayed overnight at their house. Luckily it’s a big house. A couple of people couldn’t make it in the end, so we all managed to get a bed, rather than sleeping bags on the floor.

The party was great and we carried on celebrating when we arrived back at the house. It was about 3.30 when we crawled into bed. I didn’t feel too bad when I woke up only five hours later, but it was soon clear that I needed more sleep. I managed to drive home and then crashed out on the sofa. My head was also spinning and I felt a little nauseous. Strange, as I didn’t have a lot to drink. All I could manage for dinner was a bowl of soup and a slice of toast. I did have a good night’s sleep, though, and feel fine today.

I have decided to go ahead with the 365 project, so below is the image for the 1st day – 1st January 2010. I know it’s a day late, but even if I don’t get the image posted on the appropriate day, I will at least take the actual image each day. I suppose this should be no problem if I’m still off work.

365:1 – Taken in the garden of our friends’ house on a crisp New Year’s Day morning

Some bonus images:

Curious Blackbird watching me as I wandered around the garden

A few images from the party. Some people made more of an effort with their ‘film title’ theme. On our table we had Moonraker, The King and I, The Great Escape, Chocolat, Brief Encounter, Manhattan, The Devil Wears Prada, Doctor Dolittle (Keith), Withnail and I (me).

Keith helps a little boy collect the balloons that fell from the ceiling at midnight

Our friends – Tony having ditched his Prada handbag

Leave a Reply

Categories

