Posted by: digibirder | December 28, 2009

Season’s Greetings

I know I’ve been a bit elusive again. Since joining the ranks of the unemployed I’ve been spending some time looking for another job. Having uploaded my CV to a few online agencies and applying for a few jobs advertised on these sites, I have actually got an interview at one agency this week. I’m not sure whether this will follow on with an interview with the actual employer, but it’s a step in the right direction. There may also be some alternative work at the place where I failed to get a job the other week—I have to check back later in January.

I’m also still looking into a photographic business that I can run from home. I had started to prepare for this a few months ago, but never really got it going seriously. I have started to build a website and started a few other preparatory steps, but I guess I could really put a spurt on and get something up and running. I’ve been looking into making money through blogging, but that takes some time to build up too.

A few weeks ago, I was considering starting a 365 project. You have to take a photo a day for a year, and this can be posted on a blog, or on Flickr, etc. I don’t know whether I can keep it up, bearing in mind the trouble I have keeping this blog up to date! The photos don’t have to be masterpieces—just photos taken as you go about your daily routine. I don’t know whether not working will help or hinder the process, but I have a few more days to decide whether to go ahead or not.

Apart from that, we had a quiet Christmas—just us and my sister. We had a delicious chicken as we are not that fond of turkey, and we did not overdo the food or drink. It was rather cold out, and still lots of icy snow around, so we didn’t go outside at all. My sister had to drive home on the icy roads but she made it OK. She wouldn’t stay overnight as she wanted to get home to her cats.

We stayed at home for Boxing Day but decided to brave the cold yesterday and had a drive into the Peak District to take some snowy photos. There was quite a bit left and at least the roads were now passable, unlike earlier in the week. Unfortunately, it turned a bit showery and damp so we weren’t out too long. The wind was the worst part. Even with the camera on a tripod it wasn’t enough to keep steady. Keith also had a bit of a mishap when he tried to have a pee!! He thought he was in the shelter of a rock but he was caught a little off-guard.

Anyway, snow photos are a little tricky. The brightness fools the camera meter into underexposing the image, so you have to set a stop of over-compensation in the metering. I didn’t quite get it right, perhaps, but some jiggery-pokery in Photoshop has made some improvement.

It was actually quite overcast, but suddenly a distant snowy peak beyond Hathersage was highlighted as the sun started to poke through the murk.

It’s going to be a busy week. Keith has a hospital appointment for a gastroscopy tomorrow, as he’s been having worrying digestive issues for some time. It’s just as a day-case so he will be home later in the day. Wednesday is my agency interview, Thursday we’ll be signing on as unemployed, and later that day we’re off to a New Year’s Eve party with some friends.

We haven’t been out at New Year for quite some time, but we have already paid for this event, so we’re not going to miss it now. It’s at their village hall, and there’s food laid on and some quizzes. We just have to take our own drink. The only thing we are not keen on is that it is fancy dress! We voted no to this suggestion, but the overwhelming majority voted yes, so we are having to go with that. The theme is ‘film titles’ so we are trying to think of ways to do this with minimum dressing up. Keith is taking my old stethoscope from my nursing days and going as Doctor Dolittle (as he’s done very little for this part). I’ve been trying to come up with something equally cryptic for very little effort and one possibility is to carry a stick with a nail in – Withnail and I. Or I thought about printing off multiple images of whisky bottles onto card, cut them out and then string them together in a necklace – Whisky Galore! Suggestions still welcome, as long as it can be prepared in the next couple of days.

I hope you all had a great Christmas and that the New Year brings peace, prosperity and happiness to everyone.

Responses

  1. That last pic is spectacular! Hope that the new year brings lots of exciting new opportunities for you as well as ongoing emotional well being!


Leave a Reply

Categories

