Posted by: digibirder | May 7, 2009

Prague part 3

I’ve had to have a bit of a break before finishing off my trip report. Good excuse, really – I’ve been in hospital. It was my own decision – I decided to give way to vanity and have an operation on my varicose veins. Not that they were too bad – just a cosmetic problem, really, and I thought I would have something done before they became unsightly. I was unsure whether the surgeon would agree to the op, but he seemed OK with it, even though they were not causing me any medical problems. I was a little disappointed that he couldn’t do the tiny thread veins as they were my main concern, really. It seems I would have to pay to go privately for these to be done, which I can’t afford. But he sent me for a scan which found a leaky valve at the top of my leg and he decided to treat just that particular vein.

I went in last Thursday as a day case and I am now recuperating at home. A whole week off work! I have done a bit of this post on the laptop with my feet up on a cushion, but I feel more able to sit at the desk now. I’ve been to see the nurse at the GP surgery today to have the stretchy, sticky bandage removed, which was quite an ordeal. I then had to come home and sit in the bath in order to remove the steri-strips (not nice – I almost passed out, which would not have been good as I was on my own). I now have to wear some rather fetching opaque white anti-embolism stockings (I’ve already had one on the other leg all week). They have to stay on for another two weeks. They’re already driving me mad. At least I can shower now – a week of strip-washing is not good.

While I’ve been sitting with my legs elevated for much of the time, I’ve had rather an overdose of daytime TV! It’s driving me mad. First we have the property programmes – telling us how to buy a house, update a house, clean a house, build a house, move to the country, move to another country, buy a second house: it goes on. And then we have the programmes helping us to turn our rubbish and clutter into cash – Cash in the Attic, Flog It, Trash to Cash. Then there are the makeover programmes where they take some plain-Jane/John with personal issues and turn them into someone their own relatives don’t recognise, usually with thousands of pounds worth of cosmetic surgery thrown in. Then there are the various police programmes – Road Wars, Street Wars, World’s Scariest Police Chases, The Force, Cops with Cameras, etc. I won’t even start on the chat shows. I must admit, thought, that some of these programmes are quite entertaining. I am quite into Kim and Aggie in How Clean is Your House. Some of the houses they go into make mine seem like a showhome, so I don’t think I need to worry too much about the clutter!! And I quite like the airport programmes, where they try to stop undesirables and contraband entering the country. There’s one for Australia and one for the UK. The exploits some travellers get up to are unbelievable. And one makeover show stands out from the crowd. An American called Ty Pennington runs round like a madman (he does have ADHD, apparently), and they demolish a home and rebuild an entire new house in seven days for deserving families. Pure escapism.

Anyway, on with the show.

Day 3 – Monday 30th March.

This was our last day, but our flight wasn’t due to leave until late in the evening, so we had another whole day to explore. As checkout time was midday, we had to leave our cases behind reception for the day. As we were getting ready, Keith caught his toe pin on the towel and almost pulled it out! He gently eased it back in, but it was not certain that it had gone back into the correct position. He had to be a bit more careful walking, and he was a little upset by the experience, but we wouldn’t be able to do anything about it until we were home.

After breakfast, we again went over to the Old Town and crossed the river to an area we hadn’t yet explored. We found some parkland to wander through and again made our way up to the castle, this time through an area of orchard. This gave us a chance to actually spot some birds – Nuthatch, Buzzard and Jay were nice to see, as well as the more common ones. As we made our way up to the castle there was something going off at the American Embassy. We subsequently discovered that it was in preparation for the visit of President Obama the following week.

We made our way back to Paneria again for lunch, as it was very nice food and good value, then had another wander around the Easter Markets and surrounding streets. After a coffee stop in Wenceslas Square, we boarded a tram back to the hotel. We had allowed enough time before the taxi pick-up to visit Pizzeria Carlo again, so that we wouldn’t have to rely on airport food.

The flight was on time, and my taped-up suitcase survived without further damage. After a long day, it was a tiring drive home, and it was very late when we arrived. We simply plonked the stuff in the hall and crawled into bed. We were not at work the next day, so it could all be sorted out then. We called the outpatients department about Keith’s toe, and we were given an appointment for that afternoon. As it was possible he had introduced some infection, they removed the pin and gave him some antibiotics. It was due to be removed the following week, so they were happy to take it out.

I was quite taken by some of the doorways

I was quite taken by some of the doorways

49161

A monument dedicated to the victims of communism

4918

4921

A quiet back street on the way up to the castle

En route up to the castle was the German Embassy - another impressive doorway

En route up to the castle was the German Embassy - another impressive doorway

Looking up to the castle

Looking up to the castle

Looking out over the city

Looking out over the city

49291
The castle and St Vitus Cathedral

The castle and St Vitus Cathedral

Covered walkway in the area surrounding castle

Covered walkway in the area surrounding the castle

This envelope design was a common wall decoration

This envelope design was a common wall decoration

Schwarzenberg Palace -16th century

Schwarzenberg Palace -16th century

View to the river Vltava and Old Town from the castle walls

View to the river Vltava and Old Town from the castle walls

Back to Old Town Square and the Easter Market - Tyn Church towering in the background

Back to Old Town Square and the Easter Market - Tyn Church towering in the background

Another ornate building that took my fancy

Another ornate building that took my fancy

Food stall in the Easter Market (no, we didn't!)

Food stall in the Easter Market (no, we didn't have one!)

More building decoration

More building decoration

A more stark-looking Communist-era building, I think

A more stark-looking Communist-era building, I think

So there we are. Trip report all done. Hopefully I will be able to get out and about a bit over the next weekend, depending on the weather. I’m getting a bit stir-crazy now, being alone indoors for the better part of the week. We did have a short excursion on Sunday to nearby Nostell Priory (National Trust property). They had a craft fair on, and we thought a little walk round the gardens would do me good, but being only three days post-op, it took it out of me a bit, so I’ve done more resting since then. I feel quite a lot better now that the horrible bandage has been removed. That was so tight I could hardly bend my leg. I’ll try and catch up on everyone else’s blogs now, too.

Responses

  1. nice set of photos. looks an interesting place to visit. next time try the food !!

    day time tv? I’d be watching ITV3 and Yesterday!!

  2. I’ve enjoyed your holiday tour, thanks D 🙂

    Know what you mean about that op and bandages etc. – not pleasant at all from what I recall! But life does return to normal I’m pleased to say!

  3. I promise I’ll try the food next time, but it will be hard!

    Having the Sky satellite service, you would think that there would be so much choice, but some things seem to go round and round again.

    Thanks, Tricia. My leg is a bit bruised, but not really sore. Just glad to get that elastic bangage off. I think I can cope with the stockings for another two weeks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

