Posted by: digibirder | October 1, 2008

More tripping

Well, I had the walk-through of my cardio gym exercises and managed to get through them OK. A couple of days later I went back and worked through the weights programme all on my own. It was a bit daunting at first, but I soon got into it. I was a bit miffed that one of the machines on this programme is over in the serious body-builders’ corner, and there was some bloke hogging it. As soon as I saw it was vacant, I headed over there, but another Mr Universe sneaked in. There was another machine in that corner that I had to use, so I used that instead. So, there was little me with all these burly, muscly men lifting the equivalent of a double-decker bus or something, and me lifting two bags of flour! Well, actually it’s more than that, but you get my drift. I was going to go for another cardio session earlier this week and then the weights session again later in the week, but I’ve been struck by another migraine and had to have a day off work so that put me back a bit. I felt a bit vague this morning and didn’t feel up to it so I will probably try and get half an hour in before work on Friday and then I may make a special trip over the weekend to get the second session in. I really want to make this work. I’ve already taken the before photos!!

As it was another nice weekend we took a trip up into the Yorkshire Dales (yet again) on Saturday, heading for Swaledale (yet again). As opposed to our last trip, which was mainly to take photos of the traditional Dales barns, this one was for an invigorating walk. I again decided not to lug the big camera with me, and took the compact instead. We parked in Muker and followed the valley up to Keld then crossed the river and came back to Muker on the opposite river bank.

Looking towards Keld

Looking upriver towards Keld

More barns

More barns

Some friendly locals

Some friendly locals

We came across many dead rabbits, but this poor fellow looked on his last legs. I think this is myxomatosis

We came across many dead rabbits, but this poor fellow looked on his last legs. I think this is myxomatosis

This cheeky male Chaffinch was wanting some of our sandwiches

This cheeky male Chaffinch was wanting some of our sandwiches - he was literally under our feet

So after lunch we walked down to the river and crossed over to the other side for the return journey

So after lunch we walked down to the river and crossed over to the other side for the return journey

This took us through some very dark, damp woodland where there were lots of fungi and mosses

This took us through some very dark, damp woodland where there were lots of fungi and mosses

A very muddy path leading past what I thought was a barn

A very muddy path leading past what I thought was a barn

But it turned out to be what looked like an old farmhouse

But it turned out to be what looked like an old farmhouse

I stuck the camera through one of the window openings and although it had probably been used as a barn, it did have evidence that it may at one time have been inhabited

I stuck the camera through one of the window openings and although it had probably been used as a barn, it did have evidence that it may at one time have been inhabited

Same room as above, but a strange doorway, making me think that this was an upper level. This would, however have given the ground floor room a very low ceiling so I'm not sure

Same room as above, but a strangely placed doorway, making me think that this was an upper level. This would, however have given the ground floor room a very low ceiling so I am not too sure

Another small room, this time with the remnants of a ceiling giving an idea of the height of the room

Another small room, this time with the remnants of a ceiling giving an idea of the height of the room

Same room as previous image, panned to the left to see an old fireplace, which might have had a cooking range inside

Same room as previous image, panned to the left to see an old fireplace, which might have had a cooking range inside

I spent quite some time looking in this old building, wondering who was here and how they must have lived in such an isolated spot. We arrived back in Muker where we had a cup of tea at the car – we had taken the means to make our own rather than visit the tearoom (credit crunch, and all that) – and then paid another visit to the Swaledale Woollens shop, where this time I was tempted to buy a very nice scarf (forget the credit crunch). It is hand-framed and made from Wensleydale wool by a Mrs Proctor. Going on today’s weather, it won’t be long before it’s time to wear it!!

We couldn’t really hang about, as we were going out in the evening to the 70th birthday party of one of my sister’s friends. It was a quick turnaround when we arrived home – quick shower and dress before dashing off to the pub. There was a lovely buffet provided and we had a good evening, despite being tired from our trip.

On Sunday we had another bike ride and tried yet again to reach Sprotbrough. I am pleased to say we finally made it – third time lucky. On arrival we celebrated with a beer in the Boat Inn before riding down to the canal side for our snack of pork pie and fruit cake (from the birthday party). After our brief respite we headed back to the car, which we hadn’t parked behind gates this time, although we were out and about a lot earlier than last time, so it wouldn’t really have been a problem. Total distance = 26.8km. I didn’t feel too bad, but Keith was a bit stiff and saddle-sore so he had a bath when we arrived home. I hadn’t taken my camera with me, as it tends to get in the way, but then I remembered I could take photos with my mobile phone! So here are some from the return journey.

Leave a Reply

Categories

