Posted by: digibirder | June 7, 2008

Blessed relief

I think I may have mentioned the fact once or twice that I have been in the throes of pre-menopause for some time. It actually seems like an eternity, but is, in fact, only a couple of years. Even that is long enough when you have to endure hot flushes, mood swings, anxiety, insomnia, etc. I have also mentioned that I have tried various alternative therapies, including nutritional supplements (lots of them), dietary changes, acupuncture and meditation. Well, I’ve finally given in and decided to go with the HRT option.

I decided to go down this route following our camping break in Suffolk the other week. I was actually dreading it, as the hot flushes were coming thick and fast, especially during the night, and I wondered how I would cope in the confines of a sleeping bag. I knew it would be a little chilly in the evenings, but we have quite warm sleeping bags and I feared getting over-hot and not being able to escape from it quick enough! And this is exactly what happened. Even before getting into bed I was having problems. One night we were sitting reading in front of the gas stove with our fleeces on when I felt the warning signs of a flush appear. I threw off the fleece and shot out of the tent in my t-shirt into the cold night air – and it was cold, with a bit of a wind blowing off the sea. I must have been out there at least five minutes. Anyone watching would have thought I was mad. I was burning up.

Anyway, as soon as we returned, I made an appointment with the doctor and he prescribed some oestrogen patches. I am having a bit of trouble with them, as they are supposed to stay on for 7 days, but they are coming loose at varying intervals before that. I have gone through two month’s worth in under four weeks. And they are causing a bit of a skin reaction – probably to the adhesive. I have read that this is a know issue with this particular patch. Having said that, they are having an amazing effect. The hot flushes started to subside after a few days, I am sleeping a bit better, and I am certainly not as moody as I have been. And I can drink a little wine again without getting all hot and bothered. All I have now is anxiety that the patch is going to fall off any minute, so I am going to see the doc again this week to ask for an alternative.

I have to say, I am really mad at myself for not doing this sooner. I really needed to get my life back. It was obvious that the natural remedies that have worked for others were not doing a thing for me, and I should have realised this long ago. I now feel like I can conquer the world!!

Responses

  1. So glad it’s working for you and that you’re getting your life back 🙂 Please don’t be mad at yourself – no none knows until they try, what is, or is not, going to work.

  2. That’s good to know for the future. Now if only my mommy brain could retain it 🙂

  3. Tricia – Thanks. I know I shouldn’t beat myself up about it, but I began to wonder just how much longer and how many more therapies I might have gone on trying with no results. Never mind, it’s getting better now and that’s all that matter.

    Tonya – thanks for stopping by. Hope you remember to come back!! Mine’s a meno-brain, but it’s probably similar to a mommy brain.

  4. That is really a nice option you took,keep it up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

