Posted by: digibirder | December 31, 2007

The Last Post

….of the year, that is! And a first in that I have actually managed to post a trip report on the day it happened!

We normally have a little excursion on New Year’s Day, but we decided to make it today instead, despite the miserable weather, so we headed up to Malham in the Yorkshire Dales and had a walk up to Malham Cove. We had a bit of a late start, as I had another crap night (frequent waking and hot flushes) and needed time to come round a bit. I was determined to go out somewhere, as we have been particularly lazy over the Christmas break, and for a little time before that. I just wish I could be a bit more enthusiastic about things, but most of the time I seem to have to force myself to get out and about. I almost didn’t take the camera due to the weather, but made an effort in the end.

We haven’t done any serious walking for some time, so we took it steady up the hill from the village to the cove. It was quite dull, but not raining, although it started to drizzle just as we set off back to the village. We dropped the gear back in the car and then went round to the Lister Arms for lunch, which was excellent. We’ll certainly go there again. The fine misty drizzle hadn’t stopped when we emerged from the pub, so we came straight home.

I managed to get a few photos, before the weather turned bad. It was certainly impressive standing right beneath the cliff face. You can imagine what a waterfall it must have been. Peregrine Falcons nest there, and we definitely heard them today, although they are not nesting at the moment, of course. There were lots of Jackdaws around, and we heard a couple of Mistle Thrushes. The birding highlight was on the journey there, when we were passing the Harewood House area and a Red Kite flew out of the trees just ahead of us and flew in front of the car for a short way.

img_3558.jpg

img_3562.jpg

img_3567.jpg

img_3570.jpg

img_3571.jpg

img_3568.jpg

Finally, I would like to wish all my readers a very Happy New Year. I think I need my sleep, so I won’t be staying awake to bring in the New Year, although I suspect there will be some fireworks going off in the area, so I’ll probably be woken up anyway. Bah!!

Responses

  1. are we feeling ill?

    nice photos!

  2. Malham?
    Its years since I last went there.
    Lovely photos and brings back good memories.
    First went there when I was in the 6th form on a Geography field trip and thought it fantastic.
    Later went there with a very close friend and have really happy memories!
    Happy New Year!
    Please e-mail me with your telephone numbers and address as I lost my mobile before Christmas and now have a new sims card without numbers!
    or PM me on BBF!

    C

  3. Happy New Year. X

    I love Malham.

    Nb to self – get out and about more in 2008


Leave a Reply

Categories

