Posted by: digibirder | August 27, 2007

Here I am

I’m not sure where the time goes, but I am not keeping up very well with this blogging lark. Most of the time it’s because I don’t have all my photos edited, so it’s pointless starting the blog post without those done and ready to post. We had a short holiday a couple of weeks ago, and I have started to sort the photos, but it’s taking some time, and also life tends to get in the way occasionally. Most inconvenient. And because I sit at a computer all day at work, I am also trying not to be at the computer every night, which is also cramping my style somewhat.

Anyway, to keep you amused while waiting for our holiday news, I thought I would post something I found by accident the other day whilst looking for something else. I have always marvelled at Attila the Mom‘s capacity to find the weirdos of society in the news, so when I came upon this story on a website that I became aware of some time ago, but rarely visit, I just knew I had to post it here. Please don’t ask what I was originally searching for – I have absolutely no recollection whatsoever. It’s supposed to be a site about what’s making the news in the IT world, but they do cover certain off-topic subjects too. There are some more gems, but they’re for another time.

Oh, go on then, just a couple more to be going on with. Following the (perceived) theme of Attila’s bullet, I found this story, and this one quite amusing.

Sister is home now, having to use a zimmer frame as she is still non-weight bearing on her bad foot. She’s coping quite well, though, considering. She doesn’t yet know whether she’ll be able to flex her ankle once the plaster is removed, or whether it’s fixed rigid with the plate and screws. She has another review appointment in a couple of weeks.

My rash is still driving me mad. It actually eased a bit while we were on holiday, but flared up again when we arrived home. Could be something in the water, I suppose. The cream and tablets from the hospital didn’t really do much, so I am now using comfrey cream with some tea-tree oil mixed in – and it seems to be soothing it better than the prescription stuff. It’s not getting rid of it though. I’m beginning to think I have this for some time to come. I’m going to the doc’s again this week, even though he didn’t want to see me for another three months (to review the horse-urine HRT he put me on last time I went). I have heard nothing from the hospital regarding the skin scraping results, as they said I would if the test was positive, so I’m presuming it wasn’t fungal, but I want to make sure they haven’t contacted the surgery and the doc is waiting for me to go and get something. I suppose it’s too much to hope that they would have contacted me to come in, if they had received information from the hospital that it needed something other than steroid cream.

I have found a very interesting book on pre-menopause, which sheds an interesting light on the HRT industry, and doctors’ attitudes to menopause in general. Apparently, the prescribing of oestrogen is all wrong. It’s no good giving oestrogen without progesterone, apparently, and in some cases progesterone is all that’s required. Something to look into when I am a bit further into the book, I think. I also think, due to the extreme stress I’ve been under this past year, that I may have some degree of adrenal fatigue, and I have made an appointment to see a nutritionist and possibly have some hormone tests. All I know is that I want this madness to end. The mood swings are driving me crazy, too, and the brainius  crampus that afflicts me quite frequently. Sometimes I can’t even finish off a sentence, as the simplest of words escapes me. I can sometimes picture what I want to say, just can’t remember the name for it. Very ….erm, what’s the word? %^&*$%^ frustrating!!

Responses

  1. OMG—I can’t stop laughing! Not at your sister’s foot or your rash, but at the stories you found!!!

    Thanks so much for the mention. You crack me up!

  2. I feel for you re the mood swings et al….but it does pass- and I managed to get through without any HRT.
    Mind you when one of my cats was prescribed HRT and became like a kitten again – the thought did cross my mind that maybe I ought to take HRT!!

    The water oop north is soft isn’t it?
    Seeing your comment on Quackers site I guess you were in Kent? The water’s hard there due to the chalk.
    C

  3. well I wouldn’t dare laugh at your rash. I do know how to get your moods stable….. just mention cameras.

    funny stories

  4. Have you tried neem oil on your rash?

    I like to pimp the stuff because I found out about it when I had hogs with ringworm and mites, ordered some and it cleared it up pretty quick.

    Supposed to be very good for lots of different skin complaints.

  5. You have been tagged.

  6. Hope you rash goes away soon! You’ve probably tried this, but could it be your washing powder? I had a rash on my shoulders for months which just wouldn’t go, and it turned out I was allergic to Ariel.

    I love the stories you found – that poor woman with the vibrating undies. ROFLMAO I know you shouldn’t laugh, but it’s so funny.

  7. Thanks for all your comments.

    Attila: glad you liked the links. Wasn’t sure that I could live up to your standard!

    Corinna: I do believe I may be coming out of the other end now, or at least getting near to doing so. I’m off the HRT now, so we’ll see how it goes. Yes, we went to Kent. There WILL be a post soon, I promise. The rash is easing slightly with some Comfrey cream with added tea-tree oil or massage base oil with tea-tree, lavender, eucalyptus and peppermint oils in.

    Pete: don’t you dare mention cameras or lenses again, at least not this week!!

    Anna: haven’t tried neem oil. I’ve just had some propolis oil recommended to me by a friend, which is in the post now. There’s also something called emu oil! Not heard of that one.

    Roger: why, thank you. I’ll see what I can do.

    Kate: yes, tried changing the washing powder, soaps, shampoos, and the like. I discovered that Ariel was bad for us some time ago, so haven’t used biological stuff for years, but I have a powder for sensitive skin now. Not that it’s helped much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

