Posted by: digibirder | April 1, 2007

A Little Update

Well, I thought I’d better come and give an update about what’s been happening over the past few months. Really not that exciting, but as I’m now getting back to some normality, there have been some developments, if I can remember them all!

A few weeks ago, I took the camera out of mothballs and we went to Formby to see the Red Squirrels, armed with the obligatory bag of nuts. It was a lovely day, and the squirrels were out in force. I’d heard from some sources that they can be a bit elusive, but they were everywhere and coming quite close. So here are some shots I managed to get.


Last weekend we spent a couple of days in Whitby with the good people from Photography Cafe. Apart from the B&B being a bit on the basic side, despite supposedly being ‘recently upgraded to a high standard’, we had a great time. As this was a photography meeting, I felt obliged to take plenty of photos. We met at the whalebones on the West Cliff and froze to death waiting for everyone to arrive. I decided, in my wisdom, to shoot in RAW format (don’t even ask, Pete!!), and so have had to spend a bit longer in post-processing. Here are some of the results from that trip.

A cobbled street in Robin Hood’s Bay

Misty view over Robin Hood’s Bay

Whitby Pier in the mist.

It was my birthday the other day, as mentioned by the Quacky-birder. Didn’t really want to sing it from the rooftops myself, but thanks to Pete for letting the world know. At least he kept my age to himself. Well, he knows what’s good for him, especially when we’re meeting up in a couple of weeks. We went to a lovely restaurant – one that we re-discovered the day we went to pick up the car. We had lunch there that day, and decided to test their dinner menu. It did not disappoint. Whitley Hall Hotel is the place.

Well, I think that’s all for now. I’ll be back.

(All photos taken with Canon 10D)

Responses

  1. lovely looking animals aren’t they.

    I think I know what RAW means!!

  2. Cracking squirrel shots!


Leave a Reply

Categories

