Posted by: digibirder | May 24, 2006

Bempton Birdy Blog Bash

Sorry folks, I’ve been a bit out of the loop recently, but I’m back now and raring to go.

As you can see by the title of this post, there is another bird bash coming up, hot on the heels of the Padley weekend. This one is being organised by John and myself. John has posted it on the Wild About Britain forum (see link on the right), as he doesn’t have a blog, and I am announcing it to the world here.

We will be meeting at Bempton Cliffs RSPB reserve on Sunday 11th June at 9am in the car park by the visitor centre.

Some of us are making a weekend of it, and have booked suitable accommodation for the Saturday night or longer. It has been suggested that on the Saturday we might take one of the Puffin cruises from Bridlington. I have checked the site – http://www.sfns.org.uk/seabirdcruises.htm – and the cruise on the 10th June sets sail at 4.30pm. I’ve only been on the morning trips before, so I don’t know if this is any better or worse. We would have to book in advance, and they do get booked up very quickly. I will make a call later today and see how many places they have left.

Just leave a comment if you want to join us.

Responses

  1. Ooh, sounds good, unfortunately I may well be singing that weekend on a BBC4 programme, otherwise I’d definitely come along.

    Strange but Bempton is one of the places I want to go to this year too!

  2. Put me down – but then you knew that already x

  3. Well I might just join you!!
    Have to see where I can stay – as I’d have to stay a couple of nights.

  4. yep I’ll be there, will be nice to see Corinna again.

    http://www.cameroncourthotel.co.uk/

  5. I’d love to come, but got a rare party on the Saturday (I don’t get out much)

  6. Booked in to the above hotel so see you there!! When will we know about the boat on saturday???
    Sorry about Dawn….thought we could do our dog lists together…shame!!

    C

  7. Never been to a rare party Dawn – does everyone have to turn up with something that’s hard to find??!!! 😉

    It will be nice to see you again Corinna.

    Anyone fancy a nice meal on the Saturday night? http://www.theaa.com/pubs/96474.html

  8. Its the Lamb Shank again!!

    Sounds good to me!!

    Real ale too!!

    ahhh!!

    Whats happening with the boat trip…
    theres a footie game on that pm at 14.oo
    amh….England and Paraguay…like to c it and then see more birds!!
    Looking forward to seeing you again !!
    C

  9. I haven’t been to Brid or Bempton for years, having been in exile in Kent for the last decade. I’ll be thinking of you all.

  10. I’ve just found out that I can make the Sunday, yay!

    I wanna see puffins!!

  11. Well, a lot can happen between now and the 11th, but it looks like I’ll be there, complete with teenage daughter in tow…

  12. Excellent! I’ll bring Jack. I promise I’ll keep him on a lead.

    Puffin boat is all sorted. Count us in for dinner on Saturday night. I hope the duck is on the menu.

  13. As discussed by email, I think we’d better make another appointment sometime at the Seabirds. Pity – it is rather nice, as I remember.

  14. Seabirds…next time now I liked the cafe at the end of the universe…oh end of the Flamborough!!hehe

    One photo successfully placed on blog..others no go too big?????

    C


Leave a Reply

Categories

