Posted by: digibirder | January 27, 2013

This and that – again!

I started this post in December, hoping to do a round up of the year, but life got in the way again, and here we are almost at the end of January! The new job has been keeping me occupied these past few months and I don’t seem to have a lot of time for things any more, but I am hoping I can get my act together this year.

So, after Cyprus, and then getting my new job, I have had to put my photography business on the back burner. We have done a couple more craft fairs, but they weren’t that successful, so I think we’re shelving that idea for now, even though Keith gets a few framing jobs each time. He is thinking of winding up the business anyway, as using the equipment is putting a strain on his back. I’ve taken photos when out and about, but I haven’t had any paid commissions for some time. I did go on a dog photography workshop early in January, which was quite interesting. Even though I had already done a couple of pet sessions, I wanted to learn more about pet photography in order to add this to my portfolio of services. At the moment I am not sure what I am doing about the business, so I will have to see how the job goes.

So, it’s a new year and I have settled into my routine at work now, and enjoying it. It was a little stressful at first – so much so that I lost quite a bit of weight with all the nervous energy I was using up! I was a little concerned that it was too busy for me, but I am getting used to it now. It’s nice to be earning a regular income again, and being able to buy a few new things.

I treated myself to a new compact digital camera this month, a Fuji X10. I was thinking of sticking with Canon and getting the G1X, but the Fuji was a couple of hundred pounds cheaper so I thought it would do me for now. I have had to get used to all the features, as it’s a totally different beast, but it’s great not having to carry a heavy DSLR and all the lenses around. Normally I shoot in RAW format, but the JPGs from the Fuji are really good. I will have to try printing one large, but they seem OK to me. I might experiment as I get more used to the camera. Also the automatic features and the special effects are great, so I’ve been leaving it on one of the auto settings for many of my shots. It’s just nice to ‘point and shoot’!

It’s no good me telling you news from months ago, as that would just be boring, so I will just post a selection of images taken since my last post.

Saw these characters at the Penistone Show back in September 2012

3507

3511

Taken on a workshop in the Peak District in October – a very misty sunset

_MG_3558

The following images are a selection from a trip to Thorp Perrow Arboretum, in North Yorkshire, obviously in autumn. Apart from the glorious display of trees, they also had a bit of a Halloween theme going in one part of the garden!

_MG_3578

_MG_3580

_MG_3615

_MG_3617

_MG_3587

_MG_3591

_MG_3592

Here’s a few from the dog photography workshop at Aspire Photograpic Training.

3647

3659

3664

3704

3815

3903

And here are some of the first efforts with the Fuji X10 – a walk round a local parkland area, just before I was struck down with a nasty chest infection in time for New Year!

DSCF0041

DSCF0055

DSCF0060

DSCF0064

A wander around Old Moor RSPB reserve.

DSCF0071

DSCF0077

DSCF0078

DSCF0083

A stroll down Padley Gorge in the Peak District.

DSCF0089

DSCF0096

DSCF0097

That’s enough for now. Hopefully it won’t be too long before the next update!

Responses

  1. Some good images from your new camera…. I know what you mean about the freedom from the weight of the dSLR and lenses. Although my 7D + 100-400 is heavy to lug around, I’ve decided I’m not parting with it… :)

    • Good decision on the 7D, I think. I would not part with my DSLR either. I still need it for certain occasions. I am enjoying carrying something a bit lighter though, and may even only take the Fuji on my next holiday abroad!

  2. Same here… the Fuji and Nikon V1 will be going to Rome and Vienna..but the dSLR will have to stay home…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

